These contact telephone numbers and pages will link you to the right place for information on specific public service topics that may be provided by the sheriff’s office or other agencies:
DeKalb Sheriff’s Office Sex Offender Unit (SORT)
(404-298-8315 days; 404-298-8200 nights)
DeKalb Sheriff’s Office Domestic Violence Unit
DeKalb County Police Department
North-Central Precinct 770-724-7615
Tucker Precinct 678-937-5301
South Precinct 404-286-7900
East Precinct 404-483-0300
Alcohol Permits DeKalb Police 404-297-3934
Pistol Permits Probate Court 404-371-2601
Evictions Magistrate Court/Civil Division 404-371-2261
Jury Duty Superior Court Clerk’s Office 404-371-2022
Animal Services and Enforcement 404-294-2996
Business Licenses DeKalb Government 404-371-2461
Secondary Metals Recyclers Registration
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 10-1-360, secondary metals recyclers who purchase regulated metal property in any quantity must register with the appropriate sheriff’s office(s) beginning July 1, 2012.
Annually, the Office of Sheriff is required to register secondary metals recyclers doing business in the county, keep a record of each registration, and cause the registration information to be entered into a statewide data base searchable by all law enforcement agencies. THE REGISTRATION FORM, authorized by the Secretary of State, must be used for the registration process.
- The recycler must submit a completed in person to the appropriate sheriff’s office(s).
- Obtain a copy of the driver’s license or other identification of the person submitting registration documents.
- If the recycler is a qualified alien or non-immigrant, SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENTATION must be attached to the application. A list of verifiable documents is included with these instructions.
- Inform the recycler that pursuant to HB872, the statutes that pertain to secondary metals recyclers are: O.C.G.A. § 10-1-350 through O.C.G.A. § 10-3-363, O.C.G.A. § 40-3-36, and O.C.G.A. § 40-3-56. The recycler must be familiar with these statutes. The recycler can visit the Georgia Recyclers Association website to review a summary of relevant laws. This information is on the registration form.
- The sheriff’s office must complete page 3 of the registration form.
- Annually collect a non-refundable registration fee of $200, which must be remitted to the county governing authority. Registrations cannot be considered without full payment of $200.
NOTE: You must bring two separate checks, cashier’s checks, or money orders – each in the amount of $100. One payment should be made payable to the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office and the other payment should be made payable to the Georgia Sheriff’s Association.
- Each registration is valid for a twelve month period beginning with the effective date of registration established by the sheriff’s office once all registration requirements are met.
- The record of each registration will be entered into an electronic data base accessible statewide.
How the Appropriate County of Registration is Determined
Business (Corporation or Partnership)
The recycler registering as a business must register with the sheriff in county where the place of operation is maintained. If the recycler maintains a place of operation in more than one county, he/she must register the business in each county.
Individual (Sole Proprietor)
An individual must register in the county where he/she resides.
Non-resident of Georgia
A recycler who is not a resident of Georgia must register in the county where he/she primarily engages or intends to operate as a secondary metals recycler.
In Georgia, county sheriffs are charged with enforcing the Georgia Raffle Law, which was enacted in 1995. Fund-raising lotteries or raffles are considered games of chance, and are therefore regulated by the state.
Only nonprofit tax-exempt entities, such as churches, schools and civic organizations, are allowed to perform a raffle. Eligible entities are nonprofit organizations qualified under §501c of the Internal Revenue Code, or bona fide nonprofit organizations approved by the sheriff. Georgia law §16-12-22.1 requires such organizations to obtain a license from the Sheriff’s Office of the county in which the nonprofit organization is located.
In addition, to obtain a raffle license, the organization:
- must have been in existence for a minimum of 24 months
- must pay an annual fee of $100 to the Sheriff’s Office
If the organization conducts no more than three raffles during a calendar year, the Sheriff’s Office can issue a special limited license and waive the fee.
The license will expire on December 31st in the year of issuance, so it must be renewed to conduct annual raffles. Renewal applications must be submitted prior to January 1st of each year. By April 15th of each year, the licensed organization must file with the Sheriff’s Office a professional accountant’s independently prepared report of receipts and disbursements from raffles conducted in the previous year.
For more detailed information about license requirements:
Operating a raffle without the license or failing to meet the requirements a violation of Georgia Law and subject to prosecution.